Five more Geraldton schools to receive flashing 40km/h signs

Member for Geraldton Ian Blayney today welcomed the State Government’s announcement to install flashing electronic 40km/h speed signs at five more Geraldton schools and 66 schools State-wide this financial year.

Mr Blayney said that electronic flashing 40km/h speed signs would be installed at Geraldton Senior College, Geraldton Primary School, Nagle Catholic College and St Francis Xavier Primary School throughout the Geraldton CBD School Precinct and also at Rangeway Primary School.

“During the election campaign earlier this year, the Liberal Party made a commitment to ensure all Western Australian schools will be protected by flashing electronic 40km/h speed signs by 2017,” Mr Blayney said. 

“Today’s announcement is another step towards meeting this commitment, and I’m very pleased to see Geraldton receive these important protective initiatives and commend the Liberal National Government for prioritising the safety of our children.”

The local schools are part of a wider program to install flashing speed signs at 27 country schools and 39 Perth metropolitan schools, announced by Transport Minister Troy Buswell.

The State Government has committed $36m to ensure all 1,072 school zones in WA will be covered with these lights (632 in the metropolitan area – 438 in the regions) over the next four years. 

“A total of $2.5million is being spent this financial year to further roll out this very important community safety program,” Mr Blayney said.

“The cost of installing these electronic school zone (ESZ) speed zone signs is about $40,000 per school, and so far, 171 schools have had the lights installed in their school zones.

“The five Geraldton schools will be among more than 66 schools to be included in the program this financial year and the Liberal-National Government plans to accelerate the roll out of its electronic flashing speed zone signs in the coming years.” 

Funding has come from the WA Road Trauma Trust Fund, which derives its money from the proceeds of red light and speed camera collections.

“There is no doubt that these flashing signs remove any confusion for motorists that they are in a 40km/h speed zone and must slow down,” Mr Blayney said. 

Most State school zones operate between 7.30am and 9am and from 2.30pm to 4pm on school days.


Fact File

  • Solar powered electronic flashing school zone signs are being rolled out at School Zones to improve safety;
  • 40 km/h School Zones operate on school days from 7:30-9:00 am and 2:30- 4:00pm;
  • The electronic signs are linked remotely to Main Roads Traffic Operations Centre and are able to self-report faults etc.