Consultation process for 'Student First Approach'

Federal Member for Durack Melissa Price is encouraging relevant Durack stakeholders to have their say on putting students first and creating excellence in teacher education.

Minister for Education, the Hon Christopher Pyne announced the public consultation and said lifting the quality, professionalism and status of the teaching profession is at the heart of the Government’s Students First policy and the reason for establishing an expert Teacher Education Ministerial Advisory Group.

Ms Price said under the Students First approach, the Australian Government would work with the states and territories to focus on four key areas that will make a difference to students, including:

  • Teacher quality
  • School autonomy
  • Engaging parents in education
  • Strengthening the curriculum

“The public consultation process will include meetings with representatives from a range of education bodies including teacher employers, the Australian Council of Deans of Education, Universities Australia and the Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership,” Ms Price said.

The Advisory Group will seek submissions from interested parties in response to the Issues Paper, and will conduct a benchmark study of world’s best practice in teacher education programs.

“Strengthening the curriculum also forms part of our Students First policy, but just as important as having a robust curriculum is having teachers who can deliver it effectively,” Ms Price said.

“These consultations will help the advisory group put together strong, evidence-based recommendations for improving teacher education.

“I encourage all relevant Durack stakeholders to contribute to the public consultation process, which will be accepted from Thursday 17 April 2014 until 5:30pm (AEST) on Friday 13 June 2014.”

Any interested party is eligible to make a submission, as an individual or on behalf of an organisation (where authorised to do so). To find out more, and to read the Issues Paper, please visit education-ministerial-advisory-group