Commencement of the redistribution of federal electoral boundaries in Western Australia

The Acting Electoral Commissioner, Mr Tom Rogers, announced today the redistribution of federal electoral boundaries in Western Australia has commenced.

The redistribution was triggered following a determination on 13 November 2014  by Mr Rogers of the number of members of the House of Representatives to which each state and territory will be entitled at the next federal general election.

“Based on population changes, it was determined Western Australia would gain one seat, increasing its entitlement to 16 House of Representatives seats at the next federal election,” Mr Rogers said.

An independent Redistribution Committee will be appointed to undertake the redistribution in Western Australia and the Committee will be supported by a small secretariat of staff from the AEC.

The redistribution process provides opportunities for individuals and organisations to propose where the electoral division boundaries could be located, or the name of an electoral division.

Members of the public will be invited to submit their suggestions about the redistribution during March. Guidelines are available to assist people or organisations interested in submitting their suggestions.

An indicative timetable for the federal redistribution process in Western Australia is available at

Further information about redistributions can be found at