Cricket talent to flock to Geraldton for tournament

Cricket’s finest regional talent from across Australia and the East Asia Pacific are gearing up for the Toyota Australian Country Cricket Championships.

The annual tournament will kick off in Geraldton on January 5 and will run through to January 13.

A total of 13 teams including six male and seven female sides will play fixtures at various locations in the Midwest and the competition is open to the public.

City of Greater Geraldton Mayor Shane Van Styn said the community were in for a real treat.

“We are about to see some real quality cricket here in Geraldton and I would urge everyone to check out the matches,” he said.

“The fixtures have been finalised so make sure you put them in your calendars!”

There will be a number of men and women’s T20 matches and one dayers alongside an ‘Allstars’ match with a Country Representative team playing the local Allstars that will also include a number of former Australian state cricketers.

The Allstars will include WA’s Simon Mackin, WA all-rounder Jim Allenby, as well as South Australian bowler Mark Harrity, Queensland’s Chris Simpson, WA bowler Jo Angel, New South Wales wicketkeeper Daniel Smith and Brett Geeves from East Asia Pacific.

Games will take place at various sporting grounds in Geraldton including WA Country Builders Stadium (Wonthella Oval), the Recreation Ground, Muir Park, GBSC Sports Park (Eadon Clarke Oval) with fixtures also set for Nabawa Oval.

Spectators won't have to stump up any money for entry as all games are free.

Fixtures and more information regarding the tournament can be found on the City’s website.