Council votes in favour of extended trading hours

Council have endorsed the continuation of extended general retail trading hours in Geraldton at last night’s Council meeting. 

After what Council agreed was a “community decision”, the City will now seek approval from Minister for Commerce William Johnston, to align retail hours with Metropolitan Perth on an ongoing basis. 

City of Greater Geraldton Mayor Shane Van Styn said the decision was what the community wanted. 

“We’re not doing anything radical, this is what our community members have asked for,” he said. 

“These are very standard hours, which are actually less than what most centres enjoy so we see it as a fair compromise. 

“Our goals are to stimulate broader local economic activity, by activating business precincts, and – most importantly, to meet the expressed needs and preferences of the community. 

“And we’re doing exactly that.” 

A 12-month trial of extended general retail trading hours was officially introduced in October last year after being given the tick of approval by the Minister. 

As part of the trial, a comprehensive review was undertaken in the form of two independent surveys commissioned by the City including a survey on community views and on impact and views of the business community. 

Survey reports confirmed 63 per cent of community respondents were in support of continuing extended trading hours. 

“Extended trading hours has been very well received by our community since the trial and this is a big step in the right direction for the growth of our City,” Mayor Van Styn added. 

“We are continuing to diversify our economy and if we want to be a regional city of choice for investors we need to be prepared and flexible.” 

The City will now seek approval from the Minister for continuation on an ongoing basis of general retail trading hours, aligned with Metropolitan Perth.


Retail trading hours will be as follows:

  • 8.00 am – 9.00 pm on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday Thursday and Friday;

  • 8.00 am – 5.00 pm on Saturday;

  • 11.00 am – 5.00 pm on Sunday;

  • 11.00 am – 5.00 pm on public holidays;

  • Closed on Christmas Day, Good Friday and ANZAC Day;