Geraldton-based emergency service careers honoured

Five Geraldton and Midwest fire and emergency services workers have been honoured for their outstanding loyalty and dedication. The five local men were recognised for their hard work at a medal ceremony yesterday alongside 150 officers State-wide who have spent much of their lives protecting the people of Western Australia.

Geraldton firefighter Jason Merritt and Midwest Gascoyne Regional Office (MGRO) area officer John Wheelock received 15 year Emergency Services Diligent Service (ESDM) medals, MGRO area officer Ian Comben was awarded a National Medal, Geraldton firefighter Nathan Boothman received a 15-year EDSM and a National Medal and Geraldton firefighter Louis Parker was awarded a 20-year EDSM.

Geraldton MLA Ian Blayney has paid tribute to the dedication of long serving career firefighters and emergency services personnel in the community.

“It is an honour to recognise these long-serving firefighters and operations personnel who are dedicated to protecting life and property,” Mr Blayney said.

“The awarding of these medals and plaques is a chance to thank those who do not seek recognition and who consider the exceptional work they do as just part of the job.”

The National Medal and the Emergency Services Diligent Service Medals were presented at a ceremony held at the Government House Ballroom.